Does anyone have experience with VorpX? Especially with Star Citizen 3.8?

I tried to get the combination running one afternoon but no luck, and haven’t revisited. I have no prior VorpX experience.

I can see others posting recent YT videos and guides, including with Pimax settings, so it is definitely possible.

1. Example guide: https://www.reddit.com/r/starcitizen/comments/dhz7b0/37_vorpx_and_opentrack_for_vr_guide_updated/

2. Example YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTuns7dYTqNpsVwXY09Qneg/videos

3. My experience:

As guide suggested, combination of VorpX, OpenTrack, SteamVR, Star Citizen.

1. Custom resolutions - configured and set as suggested
  2. VorpX - configured and running as suggested
  3. OpenTrack - configured and working on internal OT test (for games such as Arma 3 and Star Citizen that support TrackIR but not VR, they can be fooled into accepting a VR headset)
  4. SteamVR - config set to Auto defaults and PiTool to 1
  5. Star Citizen - launched from SteamVR (I tried both launcher and main game exes)

Problem results:

1. Star Citizen loads on monitor and gets to main menu, but nothing appears on headset apart from a few ‘grey flashes’, remains in SteamVR home
  2. Star Citizen crashes on monitor after clicking on launcher, still no result in headset

Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated, can provide any further details necessary. I have definitely missed something as this is demonstrably workable in general

1 Like

Have tried it years ago with Vive (and obviously not SC 3.8 but what ever was current back then).
Didn’t get good enough framerate back then. The best VR experience I got with StarCiticen was to simply use Virtual Desktop. This obviously doesn’t give you a real stereoscopic effect. But the big-ships wow effect worked pretty well.
Haven’t tried it since then. Waiting until there is more to do…